Stealth, Dragons, and Storming a Castle

Apologies for the lack of updates, have been busy catching up with a few new games that had come out in the last two weeks or so on Steam, two of which I had been waiting for awhile — the new Thief and Shadowrun: Dragonfall.

Both are quite actually quite fun, though I had to temper my expectations for Thief accordingly — it’s not the second coming of stealth, but it does a decent job for those that love the genre. Lore-wise, I’m not really sold on the direction that they’ve taken Garrett, or the mechanics, but being a sneaking bastard was still very entertaining.

Shadowrun: Dragonfall is the new campaign for Shadowrun Returns which, I think, is the best “video game” interpretation of FASA’s Shadowrun universe since the SNES/Genesis versions roughly 20 years past. No, seriously, it’s really that good, but Dragonfall is one of those instances where the follow-up is better than the original. Returns was heavily linear and had only touched on Shadowrun’s universe to a degree that favored fans of the series. Dragonfall is like the full-bodied primer to everything Shadowrun, especially its maxim to “never deal with a dragon”. There are plenty of reasons exploring why and I’ll be plugging away at that over the next few days along with the Wasteland 2 beta which had gotten a few new additions with the latest update (like an improved inventory). Also, finally found a use for Philips’ CD-I in the game. Now I just need to find out who wants the Genesis.

Thief's artists knocked things out of the park with the City and Luc St-Pierre's soundtrack adds to the ambiance. Working the mechanics, though, was a mixed bag.

Thief’s artists knocked things out of the park with the City and Luc St-Pierre’s soundtrack adds to the ambiance. Working the mechanics, though, was a mixed bag.

Now this is the Shadowrun we've been waiting for. Returns was just the appetizer.

Now this is the Shadowrun we’ve been waiting for. Returns was just the appetizer.

I’ve also been fiddling with the Elder Scrolls Online beta and jumped into the PvP part of the game that pits all three alliances against each other in a race to appoint an emperor or empress in the province of Cyrodiil. It was interesting stuff, my first time in a mass PvP event in an MMO, though the game didn’t give me a lot of information to go on such as telling me that jumping into PvP removed my character from doing the regular questing stuff. I didn’t spend as much time in this beta round as I did the last time, mostly because I was hoping to run around and do a few more quests until I unexpectedly found myself trapped in Cyrodiil’s war. Ah, well.

That's a lot of catapults. I was on the Dominion side in my chosen campaign and storming a castle as part of a mob fo players was insanely fun -- but not quite enough to convince me to pay for a sub.

That’s a lot of catapults. I was on the Dominion side in my chosen campaign and storming a castle as part of a mob of players was insanely fun — but not quite enough to convince me to pay for a sub.

Leave a Reply

