I wrote a thing for 2013’s games

Looking forward to 2013, I thought I’d scrabble together a big list covering the games that are coming out along with some thoughts on the industry and a whole. If you’ve been wondering what I’ve been doing for the past few days, that’s what I was working on. I posted it up over at Gamesbeat which is part of Venturebeat, following the Bitmob crew over to their new home.

It’s not as controversial as you might think it might be, I tried keeping things pretty civil. No games were harmed in the making of that list though I’m wondering if a few actually should be on there.

In looking over 2013, two things popped out at me right away — there aren’t as many titles expected out as there was in my last survey, about 40 or so less. The second thing is that February and March look slated to be as busy as November and December, at least in North America. So if you got a little extra something during the holidays, it might be in anticipation of Bioshock Infinite, Rayman Legends, or Metal Gear Solid: Revengeance among many others.

Anyway, it’s all there for everyone to check out and come to their own conclusions. It doesn’t seem to be as “big” a year as 2012 was, but what does that mean? Are there going to be some hidden surprises late next year? Or perhaps the industry knows something everyone else doesn’t about 2014? It’s anyone’s game at this point. The only one that doesn’t seem that worried about it is Nintendo. So far, at least.

Happy New Year’s to everyone out there! See you in 2013.

Leave a Reply

