Technical love for Borderlands 2 – .NET installs looping in Steam

Currently hooked on Borderlands 2. Love what they’ve done with it so far, but I’m really early in so I can’t say anymore than that. I’m playing as Maya the Siren mostly because I like the “spellcaster” element which is why I also used Lilith in the first game. So far, so good, but getting there wasn’t without some issues.

For one thing, and this has been verified by others at Steam’s forums for the game, it goes into some bizarre .NET installation loop that seemingly never ends. In the end, I scrubbed out my old .NET installs using a tool developed on this page and reinstalled the full distributable – though Steam insisted on installing .NET again when I wanted to start Borderlands 2 back up but this time, it worked.

But BEFORE I even got that far, I was already confused over why it was bugged to begin with. I cleaned all of that up after I had actually played some of the game and avoided the .NET garbage it wanted to do first.

So if you really want to start the game without dealing with .NET like I did at first (though I eventually had to fix it since I have other programs that depended on it), you can hit the main installation directory and just run the Borderlands 2 executable instead. By default, mine was located here:

C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\Borderlands 2\Binaries\Win32\Borderlands2.exe

Your path may vary, but you should get the idea. Double click on that,and you should be on your way. I was playing just fine and it still integrated itself with Steam for screenshots and achievement feedback.

So finally, once again, the looting begins! 🙂

One response to “Technical love for Borderlands 2 – .NET installs looping in Steam

Leave a Reply

