Working with the GECK and Sega Classics are awesome

If you’ve been wondering where I’ve been, I’ve been hammering away at the GECK for Fallout 3 and trying all sorts of new things with it in order to try and enhance my own gaming experience. One thing that I thought odd about Fallout 3 was that you could combine massive suits of armor together, or lug them around in your inventory, and simply ” blend them” out in the field. I know it’s shorthand avoiding having to go through the minutiae of what actually transpires in the game world of F3, but it was still weird to be able to carry one or two suits of Tesla Armor  and then “blend” them together. So I’ve been working on a mod to try and make it a little more difficult to do so as well as give packrat players like myself something to do in the Wasteland. It’s not going to be something as harsh as S.T.A.L.K.E.R., but I think it should be fun for those that want something new to do in the end-game…or are looking to add to the challenge of the game. I’ve also been working on supporting the Gauss Rifle and Winterized T51B-Armor items from Operation Anchorage and I’m just about done in that regard. And it’s all without having to spawn extra suits of armor or Gauss Rifles in a room to fix them, either. It works out pretty well.

Aside from the scripting and database editing in the GECK, modeling has been another story altogether. I wanted to create a new workbench in the game and used Blender to make a new model, Niftools…everything that burgeoning 3D artist would need to start adding new things to the game. Most of the tutorials cover how to replace parts from existing models in order to get the model in, but mine has several parts added onto a model. The bizarre thing, and why no one will probably see my new workbench to go along with my script, is that while GECK can see all of the parts, it’s invisible in the game. That doesn’t do anyone any good and after poring through one tutorial, forum post, and even the Oblivion tutes (I never modded anything for Oblivion, never had the time to until now), it seems that there are almost five or six ways on how to do this part of the modding.

I thought the old workbench was a little boring, so I added a nuclear reactor to it for more ambitious home projects.

I thought the old workbench was a little boring, so I added a nuclear reactor to it for more ambitious home projects. Rad Away not included.

Unfortunately, I was never able to get it into the game…yes, I tried the “stripify” thing and it ends up crashing Niftools or the GECK, but at least the scripting behind the table is working the way that it should. I just have to polish that out and pretty much wait for either the tools to catch up so that it’s possible to put in entirely new models without replacement which seems to be the only way that it can be done at this point. Unfortunately, with as many changes as I’ve made to the table, I really can’t find a corresponding model and simply past over the parts. At least it doesn’t work for me. Maybe someone out there knows that I’m missing?

On a gaming note, everyone’s going nuts over SF4…I’ve never been an SF person, but I certainly appreciate what it’s doing for would-be street fighters everywhere. It’s great to see Capcom deliver another solid game to the scene with the kind of polish that I’ve pretty much come to expect to come out from the studio. Even though the Street Fighter franchise is decidedly rooted in old school traditions, the exuberance that its newest iteration has shared with the press and players across the world is fantastic stuff. I might pick it up one of these days, but Killzone 2, Ys for the DS, and Star Ocean: The Last Hope are out this week. Ouch.

One game I’ve been having a lot of fun with is Sega’s Ultimate Genesis Collection. Sega Ages, a series of compilations released in Japan several years ago, never came over to the States unless a gamer decided to import the collections. Some of the titles from those collections had been released as a part of the Sega Classics Collection and Genesis Collection for the PS2, but the “Ultimate” collection boasts roughly 40 titles across arcade, Master System, and Genesis generations making for an impressive selection. It’s incredible stuff, the emulation looks to be spot on for most of these, although you have to manually set the screen for each game to take advantage of your widescreen set if you have one. Classics like E-Swat, Beyond Oasis, and Shining in the Darkness are included for RPGers to sink their hours into. If you have a 360 or a PS3 and love Sega or classic console games in general, this is a great way to get a lot of gaming in on one, convenient disk.

Leave a Reply

