So Operation Anchorage won’t run on your PC…

Aside from having to fix this, it's actually quite fun if you love new items and story material.

Aside from having to fix this, it's actually quite fun if you love new items and story material.

Disclaimer: By following these steps, you take full responsibility for whatever happens next. It’s a simple process, but thanks to so many years in IT, I know that there are people that can screw up a copy/paste out there. If you have any doubts, find someone that can help you.

If you know how to install a mod from a site like Fallout Nexus, then the process is pretty much the same thing with only you having to read the steps as to where the DLC was saved on your PC by Games for Windows Live and then copying and pasting the files to the Data directory. All done!

I had this happen to me. After downloading the content and watching the game say that it was loading it, nothing happens for about an hour until I give up. It seems that even though the game claims to have loaded it, one some machines the quest simply doesn’t start. There is a way to force/fix it, though, but it requires you to do a little jumping through a few technical hoops as I found out after trying to track down some information on this.

If you’ve installed a mod in Oblivion before, then this will seem like cake. If not, I hope my steps are as clear as they can be in case you run into this.

The following steps are for Windows XP so don’t blame me if you try this under Vista. I’m not sure how different the steps are.

After you’ve purchased the content via Games for Windows Live, it will have downloaded it to a default location. First, make sure that you can see hidden folders. If you already can, you can skip these steps. If not and are not sure how to:

1) Double click on My Computer

2) Double click on your C: drive

3) You will see a list of folders.

4) In the menu bar at the top of the window click on Tools -> Folder Options

5) Under Folder Options, click on View

6) Under View, you will see an option marked “Hidden Files and Folders”

7) Double click on “Hidden Files and Folders”

8 ) Click on the radio button next to “Show hidden files and folders”

7) Once you’ve done that, Click on Apply. You should now be able to see hidden folders.

If you can already see hidden folders, or if you’ve followed the steps above, follow this path on your C: drive:

C:\Documents and Settings\MyUserName\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\XLive\DLC

1) “MyUserName” is YOUR user name

2) Under the DLC folder, keep drilling down until you get to a folder called Content

3) Double click on the Content folder

4) You should see three files with the Anchorage name. Highlight all three and right click -> Copy

5) Go to the folder where you installed Fallout 3 (it will usually be: C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Fallout 3)

6) Double click on the Data folder under your Fallout 3 folder

7) Right click -> Paste; this will copy the three files over

8 ) Start up Fallout 3

9) Click on Data Files; you should see the Fallout 3 file checkmarked and see the Anchorage entry

10) Click on the empty box next to “Anchorage” to checkmark it

11) Start the game and wait a few minutes for the radio signal

That should do it. If it still doesn’t work for you, I’m not sure what to say since these instructions are what worked for me.

18 responses to “So Operation Anchorage won’t run on your PC…

  1. Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you!!!

    Not been able to get it to work since it came out, any idea how i can get my acheivments to work now? 😀

  2. Can’t thank you enough for this – but why, oh why are we having to do our own fixes like this. I e-mailed Bethesda about the problem days ago and still no reply. Once again – thanks!

  3. @ Kenny
    The PC version has a console command that you can apparently use to “activate” your Achievements…I have one myself that is broken, “Scientific Pursuits”, which didn’t go even after I finished the game.

    During the game, the console can be brought up with the ~ key and then you punch in the command and the achievement you want to unlock. I haven’t tried it myself yet, but here’s the link to all of the commands available:

    http://fose.silverlock.org/Fallout3Commands.html

    The Achievements seem to be numbered, so I’m not sure which one is the one I need for my own Achievement and the list doesn’t break down the variables needed…only the commands. I’ve also read that even if you don’t have the DLC, you can still give yourself the Anchorage achievements which is bizarre. Hope this helps.

  4. The PC version also will install the entire game on your PC without having to use the disk when playing the game. I followed all of your steps, very nicely explained, and I still could not get DATA on the menu so that I could check anchorage.esm. Finally, what worked for me, was putting the Fallout DVD in the drive and running the game from the DVD.

    The menu that came up with the DVD in the drive was different from the installed-on-PC version. DATA was there, and I was able to check Anchorage, and had no problems from that point. I can now play Operation Anchorage. My operating system is Vista. Thanks for all of your help. I am no longer frustrated. But isn’t that strange: a download installed on your machine having to access the DVD.

  5. That’s pretty odd. I’m still playing on XP so Vista might treat things a little differently, I’m not exactly sure. I know that there have been questions that Vista owners have put out in the forums, so this might be part of what is different between the two. Glad that it worked out for you, though. Happy gaming!

  6. The problem I had was that the game was on a different HDD from my OS, being Vista. First Vista has no Douments and Settings folder or Local Settings folder. Both are virtual folders that can never be accessed. So basically the folder path is the same except without those two folders but instead a Local folder so its MyUserName\AppData\Local\Microsoft\XLive\DLC\\\Content and there ya go Vista users. If the Pitt add-on is same I would guess this is the fix too.

  7. I’m still having a lot of trouble with this. My computer uses Windows XP and I’m sure I have Games for Windows completely updated. Even then I cannot find the XLive fold after going through the C:\Documents and Settings\MyUserName\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft. Any ideas?

    • That’s very strange, it should be in your \Microsoft folder because you followed all of the steps exactly right. That’s the only location I can think of right now of where it should be, I’m sorry I can’t be anymore helpful. By default, that’s where GFWL creates the folder to keep your downloaded content in.

  8. Guys!
    THanks but i still didnt get to play this damn DLC
    I dled the 1.15 patch from bethesda-fallout website and then MOVED the whole anchorage files to fallout 3 data folders, but no signal was found for this anchorage thing, please help me, i am dying out here

    • One thing that I had to get to work for me, at least with the Broken Steel DLC, was in disabling any of the other mods that I had running at the time. I had to turn off a custom mod that I was running to even get BS to work, so it might be in the same case with you because of the Fallout 3 patch that brings it up to 1.5.

  9. Wowee! you might want to mention that you’re only explaining how to install a mod at the top of the instructions before you make people read your 11 step instructions which really only need to be about 3 steps

    • Not everyone knows how to install mods, but I altered the top of the article to make it more clear so that modders that drop by will know to just skip ahead to the info they need. After that, it should be pretty clear on what they should try to do.

  10. Uh…There is nothing in the Content folder. I have hidden files showing.

    WTF?! I have Mod Manager and It said it copied over the anchorage files, but the mission doesn’t start.

    • You’ll get the radio signal a few minutes in…not a half hour later or something like that, give it a little time. Also, try going through the launcher for Fallout 3, not the mod manager, and disable any other mod you have other than the official DLC (Pitt, Anchorage, Broken Steel).

      If that works, great. If it doesn’t, I don’t know what to tell you.

  11. Hi,

    I bought the expansion pack on disk rather than through GFWL and I can’t get the signal to work.
    I am on Vista 64 and have the game installed on a seperate HDD to the OS. Anyone have any ideas how to get it working? I have hung around in-game for a few days so the signal is defo not appearing. I have the 1.6 patch of the game and no mods installed.

    I’ve read through the fixes suggested by people but the thing is I don’t have a folder in my Xlive folder called DLC, I guess that is because I bought it on disk rather than via download (yes I have hidden folders turned on)?

    Any help much appreciated. I don’t think I’ll be buying anything that uses GFWL ever again!

    Thanks,

    Rich.

  12. Thx for the help dude. It’s a shame the developers can’t seem to make a proper installer for an expansion pack like this.. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

