First post of the new year celebrates with rough diamonds

A belated Happy New Years to everyone out there! Hopefully everyone had a safe holiday season.

Just finished up Ubisoft’s Far Cry 2. There’s a lot of potential in the design of the game to bring out something truly engrossing, but it never rises above being a regular run ‘n gun shooter with a few shallow elements to play with. And then there are the checkpoints, the respawns that killed most of my excitement for the game. The tedium had gotten so bad at certain stretches that I kept wishing I were playing something else. Too bad I was already halfway through when that feeling crept up on me. I like it for its technical and artistic awesomeness, but as a game, it left a lot to be desired by this would-be mercenary.

My after action report contains all of the nasty details.

Everything burns, or gets burned, in Far Cry 2

Everything burns, or gets burned, in Far Cry 2

Leave a Reply

