Totally Star Ocean’ed

Whew! Sorry for the lack of updates, but I’ve been in an RPG marathon as of late. Lots of good ones came out at the tail end of my fun with Star Oceans 2 and 3. I finished Till the End of Time and despite my earlier misgivings, actually found it to be tough but fair and not as bad as I may have made it out to be. I still have issues with it, but the climactic battle at the end and the unexpected twists in the story were actually a lot of fun to play through. I’m really looking forward so SO4 when it comes out next year.

I’m also playing Infinite Undiscovery and Tales of Vesperia and the difference between these two is like night and day, but not in a really bad sense. I love IU for its crazy real-time combat system, something that’s a tri-Ace trademark by this point, but it’s pretty much weak everywhere else which was surprising. Tales has everything else, but I also like the combat system quite a bit and the characters are every bit as charming as I had expected them to be.

And that’s just the beginning. This is going to be another busy Fall season with a lot of RPGs making their debut, but at least I’ve gotten done with my SO playing for awhile.

And for Witcher fans, the Enhanced version is almost out. If you own the original Witcher, don’t fret…you should be able to download all of the enhancements for free. The editor and a free quest are already available, but the Enhancements will have all that including the voices (the downloadable quests right now don’t have any). If you’re a PC RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to take a look at the Witcher. It’s probably one of the best RPGs to come out in years.

When eight people pile on one monster, it's time to party hard!

This is right before every monster here dies horribly.

Leave a Reply

