Live withdrawal

Looks like Xbox Live! is down for some maintenance, or it’s having some major issues. Even the homepage for Live! is in and out with a “server error” page. I can’t log in and when it tries, it freezes the box. At first I thought it was another problem that I’d have to send for a cardboard coffin, but it looks like everyone else is getting the same thing from what I’ve picked up from the boards. It would have been nice to get some kind of indicator that there’s a problem with the network instead of freezing the system…an e-mail or something. At least the PS3 lets you know if there’s a network/maintenance problem when you try to connect.

That said, I did give COD4 and Timeshift a whirl and have to say that COD4’s multiplayer is a lot of fun. I’ve had Halo 3 since it was released, but I’ve only touched the multiplayer on it a few times in the past. It’s fun, but it didn’t really grab me the way that COD4’s did. I have to admit, I bought it more for the story than for the multiplayer, but I enjoyed the co-op immensely. COD4 is just the opposite: the story was pretty thin, but the single player had plenty of great action that made up for it. And the multiplayer is the icing on the cake. It’s pretty deep stuff and it’s a lot of fun online. I just wish that there was a medic class, I kind of miss it in this one. The modern setting also feels like a restart of the series which is great. I love a good WW2 shooter, but Infinity Ward’s newest update is just as exciting.

As for Timeshift, I’m glad I rented it instead of bought it. There’s not much of a story, just a string of action sequences strung together by cutscenes that try and tell one but don’t do much good. The multiplayer was interesting, though. Using time powers online was a nice twist and made for some crazy stunts and last minute saves that you wouldn’t see anywhere else. It’s hyper fast, though, and there weren’t that many servers out there the last time I checked. Everyone’s probably playing either Halo 3 or COD4.

Leave a Reply

