Ace Combat and an experience with the Darkness

After watching the trailer for the upcoming Ace Combat 6 on the 360, I was wondering what I was missing as the series looked like something that I’d like to have played. I’ve always been a fan of Crimson Skies and I’ve had an itch for playing a fun flight sim on consoles for awhile now, so I thought I’d give Ace Combat 5 a try after doing a little research as to which one could be good to start off with. Now I wonder why I haven’t really gotten into the series sooner. If you’re curious as to what I thought about it, I put up a review for it below:

Ace Combat 5: The Unsung War – (PS2)

I also had some time to spend with The Darkness for the 360 from 2K and Starbreeze. Starbreeze is probably best known for their title, Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay, which gave players a front seat to how Vin Diesel’s anti-hero broke out of a prison that everyone said was impossible. I thought that was a great game as Starbreeze did a fantastic job with the atmosphere of the title and the action, not to mention including extras such as DVD commentary for the PC version that allowed you to replay the game and interact with hotspots to hear what the devs had to say. Cool stuff. I was hoping The Darkness would provide much of the same and while it does a great job with the single player, it does have a few issues…especially with the multiplayer. If you’re interested in what I have to say about that, I’ve written up an opinion on the game below.

The Darkness – (360)

Two Heads, One Vessel

Leave a Reply

